ANIMAL WELFARE

The health of our animals comes first with regard to breeding and keeping. In addition to the extensive official controls, our employees also inspect each of our animals twice a day and check if they are healthy. We offer the animals toys and manipulable material as well as a species-appropriate atmosphere. Through the use of modern stable technology, our animals have access to food and fresh, clean water 24 hours a day. Feeding and climate control are monitored around the clock. In the event of a fault, the employee in charge is automatically informed. Weak animals are swiftly separated from healthy pigs and are allowed to recuperate under special observation. Healthy piglets need less medication, which increases quality and reduces costs.

Our strict compliance with the animal welfare requirements and prescribed hygiene rules is the prerequisite for the economic success of our company. This includes the subdivision of the companies into separate areas. Access to the animals is only possible after passing through a lock and showering beforehand. Working clothes are mandatory when working with the pigs. In addition, it must be ensured that no contact with other pigs took place during the previous 48 hours. This prevents the transmission of infections and diseases and ensures the health of piglets in our stables.

OUR FOOD

Our pigs are fed with steamed potatoes, barley, wheat and maize. In addition, the animals receive proteins in form of rapeseed meal and soybean meal. The feed is mainly grown in the region and always freshly arranged by the forage master. The animal feed used is subject to strict quality controls.

We produce part of the demand for barley, wheat and maize on our own. We buy the remaining feed directly from the producer and distributors in the region. Our storage capacities correspond to about half of the annual demand. Companies that supply us with feed are QS and GMP certified. Each delivery has its own order number and is checked for contamination, appearance and smell. Moreover, we take a sample to examine the dry substance and the pH level. We collaborate with different laboratories to allow constant independent control of mycotoxins and microbiological parameters. Thus, we can maintain our proven high quality and hygiene standards and continue to support the excellent health status of our sows and piglets.

OUR STABLES

Our stables are equipped with an automatic climate control with steady air exchange, which ensures a constant temperature between 18 and 20 degrees Celsius in the sow compartments. This way, our pigs are provided with optimal living conditions, clean air and a comfortable climate.

It is very important for us to keep odour emissions as low as possible for the local residents around our sites. Therefore, most of our facilities are equipped with exhaust air purification systems, which do not only reduce ammonia emissions but also odour. For the most part, we utilise the excrements directly at our sites in the biogas plants. In addition to the energy production aspect, the odour is significantly reduced compared to storing the manure and applying it on the fields. We consider manure as an important energy supplier and produce a low-odour fermentation substrate, which is then applied as natural fertiliser to the arable land of the region. Thereby, we close our agricultural cycle.

OUR TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM

Our piglets are mainly transported by our own trucks. The loading ramps on our three- to five-story vehicles are hydraulically adjustable and adapted to the height of the floors. In order to make the loading as comfortable as possible for the animals, electric drovers are forbidden. We work with driving boards or other animal-friendly means. Ventilation, self-watering systems and temperature monitoring are guaranteed. Through modern navigation, we are able to notify our customers of the arrival of the animals with an accuracy of half an hour. Thus, our piglets benefit from a quick unloading.
We have our own workshop and therefore have the opportunity to clean and maintain the vehicles on our own. This gives us the greatest possible control over the hygiene status and the technical condition of our vehicles.

SUSTAINABLE OPERATION

LFD Holding operates a total of ten biogas plants with a total output of 6.8 megawatts at its major sites. We use the exhaust heat from the plants to heat the stables and to clean the compartments with warm water. In addition, the piglets in the flat deck can receive warm food. That way, we can minimise the use of fossil fuels. The biogas plants of the sites contribute to the reduction of CO2 emissions for the production of conventional electrical energy by about 22,900 tons per year.
In our biogas plants, manure is being converted into electricity together with renewable raw materials. In the fermenters, the fermentation substrates are heated to an optimum temperature and prepared for biogas production. The biogas, which escapes on the surface of the substrate, is accumulated in the upper area of the biogas tank and further processed in a connected cogeneration unit to generate electricity and heat. The remaining substrate after the fermentation process, the so-called digestate, can be used as a high-quality organic fertiliser.

Before being applied to the agricultural fields and meadows, the digestate and manure are stored up to six months in covered containers on the plants. The fermentation residues are stored in the containers in a gas-tight manner in order to prevent methane and ammonia from escaping before being applied to the fields. Compared to manure, the fermentation substrate has a much higher dry substance content and a higher fertiliser value. Furthermore, it is almost odourless compared to manure when applied to the fields. The fertiliser demand of the farms surrounding our locations ensures the complete use of the digestate.
To further optimise our energy supply, we operate solar energy systems at all sites. Due to their size, location and orientation, our sites offer the best conditions. Every plant is already contributing to reducing the environmental impact of CO2 by 520,000 kg per year, with rising tendency.

Public information in compliance with 12th BlmSchV

SUPERVISION AND CONTROL

Our company is subject to multi-level control by different instances:

The responsible veterinarian checks the health status of the entire stock almost daily, at least once a week.

The building supervisory authority regularly monitors whether the plant complies with the building permit.

The Pollution Control Authority checks through inspections once or twice a year to ensure the plant is being operated in accordance with the operating license.

The fire protection officer monitors compliance with the fire protection regulations for humans and animals.

The TÜV checks the system every two years in accordance with the Water Resources Act.

Every year the electric inspection takes place, that means the professional inspection of all electronic facilities.

EnglishGerman

TIERWOHL

Die Gesundheit unserer Tiere steht bei Züchtung und Haltung an erster Stelle. Neben den umfangreichen amtlichen Kontrollen kontrollieren auch unsere Mitarbeiter jedes unserer Tiere zweimal täglich und stellen fest, ob es gesund ist. Wir bieten den Tieren Spielzeug und Beschäftigungsmaterial, sowie eine artgerechte Atmosphäre. Durch den Einsatz moderner Stalltechnik haben unsere Tiere 24 Stunden am Tag Zugang zu Futter und frischem, sauberem Wasser. Fütterung und Klimasteuerung werden rund um die Uhr überwacht. Im Fall einer Störung wird der Mitarbeiter in Rufbereitschaft automatisch informiert. Schwächere Tiere werden zeitnah von den gesunden Schweinen getrennt und können unter besonderer Beobachtung regenerieren. Gesunde Ferkel brauchen weniger Medikamente, das erhöht die Qualität und senkt die Kosten.

Strikte Einhaltung der Tierschutzauflagen und der vorgeschriebenen Hygieneregeln ist die Voraussetzung für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg unseres Unternehmens. Dazu gehört auch die Unterteilung der Betriebe in getrennte Bereiche. Der Zugang zu den Tieren ist nur nach dem Passieren einer Schleuse und vorherigem Duschen möglich. Betriebskleidung ist bei der Arbeit mit den Schweinen Pflicht. Außerdem muss nachgewiesen werden, dass in den letzten 48 Stunden kein Kontakt zu anderen Schweinen stattfand. Das verhindert die Übertragung von Infektionen und Krankheiten und sichert die Gesundheit der Ferkel in unseren Ställen.

UNSER FUTTER

Unsere Schweine werden mit gedünsteten Kartoffeln, Gerste, Weizen und Mais gefüttert. Zusätzlich erhalten die Tiere Eiweiße in Form von Rapsschrot und Sojaschrot. Das Futter wird überwiegend in der Region  angebaut und vom Futtermeister immer frisch zusammengestellt. Die eingesetzten Futtermittel unterliegen strengen Qualitätskontrollen.

Einen Teil des Bedarfs an Gerste, Weizen und Mais erzeugen wir in Eigenanbau. Die restlichen Futtermittel kaufen wir möglichst direkt vom Erzeuger und Händler in der Region. Unsere Lagerkapazitäten entsprechen in etwa der Hälfte des Jahresbedarfs. Betriebe, die uns Futtermittel liefern, sind QS- und GMP-zertifiziert. Jede Lieferung hat bei uns ihre eigene Ordernummer und wird auf Verunreinigungen, Aussehen und Geruch kontrolliert. Gleichzeitig entnehmen wir eine Probe, um die Trockensubstanz und den PH-Wert zu bestimmen. Wir arbeiten mit unterschiedlichen Laboren zusammen, um Mykotoxine und mikrobiologische Parameter ständig unabhängig kontrollieren zu lassen. Auf diese Weise können wir unsere bewährt hohen Qualitäts- und Hygienestandards halten und den vorzüglichen Gesundheitsstatus unserer Sauen und Ferkel weiterhin bestens unterstützen.

UNSERE STÄLLE

Unsere Ställe sind mit einer automatisierten Klimasteuerung mit ständigem Luftaustausch ausgestattet, die in den Sauen-Abteilen eine konstante Temperatur zwischen 18 und 20 Grad Celsius gewährleistet. Dadurch sichern wir unseren Schweinen optimale Lebensbedingungen, saubere Luft und ein angenehmes Klima.

Es ist uns ein besonderes  Anliegen, die Geruchsemission für die Anlieger so gering wie möglich zu halten. So sind ein Großteil unserer Stallanlagen mit Abluftreinigungsanlagen ausgestattet, die neben Ammoniakminderung auch den Geruch reduzieren. Die in der Schweinehaltung anfallenden Exkremente verwerten wir zum überwiegenden Teil vor Ort in unseren Biogasanlagen. Das hat neben dem Energiegewinnungsaspekt den Vorteil einer deutlichen Reduzierung des Geruchs gegenüber der direkten Lagerung und Ausbringung. Aus dem Energielieferanten Gülle wird ein geruchsarmes Gärsubstrat, das als Naturdünger auf die Ackerböden der Region ausgebracht wird. Damit schließen wir unseren landwirtschaftlichen Kreislauf.

UNSER TRANSPORTSYSTEM

Unsere Ferkel werden überwiegend mit unseren hauseigenen LKW transportiert. Die Verladerampen an unseren drei- bis fünfstöckigen Fahrzeugen sind hydraulisch verstellbar und werden an die Höhe der Böden angepasst. Um das Verladen für die Tiere so schonend wie möglich zu gestalten, sind elektrische Viehtreiber bei uns verboten. Wir arbeiten mit Treibbrettern oder anderen tierfreundliche Treibmitteln. Lüftung, Selbsttränken-Anlagen und das Temperatur-Monitoring sind gewährleistet. Durch moderne Navigation und Monitoring können wir unseren Kunden die Ankunft der Tiere auf eine halbe Stunde genau ankündigen. Auch unseren Ferkeln kommt das zeitnahe Ausstallen und Abladen zugute.

Wir verfügen über eine eigene Werkstatt und haben so die Möglichkeit, die Fahrzeuge selbst zu reinigen und zu warten. Damit behalten wir die größtmögliche Kontrolle über den Hygiene-Status und den technischen Zustand unserer Fahrzeuge.

NACHHALTIGES WIRTSCHAFTEN

Die LFD Holding betreibt an den großen Standorten insgesamt zehn Biogasanlagen mit einer Gesamtleistung von 6,8 Megwatt. Die Abwärme der Anlagen nutzen wir, um die Ställe zu heizen und um die Abteile mit warmem Wasser zu reinigen. Darüber hinaus können die Ferkel im Flatdeck angewärmtes Futter bekommen. So können wir auf fossile Brennstoffe verzichten. Die Biogasanlagen der Betriebe tragen dazu bei, dass die CO2-Emission zur Herstellung herkömmlicher elektrischer Energie um circa  22.900 t pro Jahr verringert wird.

In unseren Biogasanlagen wird Gülle zusammen mit nachwachsenden Rohstoffen (NAWARO) verstromt. In den Fermentern werden die Gärsubstrate auf eine optimale Temperatur erhitzt und zur Biogasproduktion aufbereitet. Das Biogas, welches an der Oberfläche des Substrates entweicht, wird im oberen Bereich (Tragluftdach) des Biogas-Behälters gesammelt und in einem angeschlossenen Blockheizkraftwerk zur Erzeugung von Strom und Wärme weiterverarbeitet. Das nach dem Gärprozess verbleibende Substrat, der sogenannte Gärrest, kann als hochwertiger ökologischer Dünger verwendet werden.

Bis zur Ausbringung auf den landwirtschaftlichen Äckern und Wiesen werden Gärrest und Gülle bis zu sechs Monate in abgedeckten Behältern auf den Anlagen zwischengelagert. Die Gärreste werden in den Behältern gasdicht gelagert, um das Entweichen von Methan und Ammoniak vor dem Ausbringen auf die Felder zu verhindern. Im Vergleich zur Gülle hat das Gärsubstrat einen wesentlich höheren Trockensubstanzgehalt und einen größeren Düngewert. Gleichzeitig ist es im Vergleich zur Gülle fast geruchlos, wenn es auf die Felder ausgebracht wird. Der Dünger-Bedarf in den umliegenden landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben unserer Standorte stellt die vollständige Abnahme der Gärreste sicher.

Zur weiteren Optimierung unserer Energieversorgung dient der Betrieb von Solaranlagen an allen Standorten. Unsere Betriebe bieten durch ihre Größe, Lage und Ausrichtung dazu die besten Bedingungen. Jede Anlage trägt bereits jetzt zur Minderung der CO2-Belastung der Umwelt um 520.000 kg pro Jahr bei, Tendenz steigend.

20% der in Gladau und Binde benötigten Futtermittel bauen wir in Eigenproduktion an. Den Rest kaufen wir direkt von Erzeugern aus der Region. Das spart uns Zeit, Geld – und der Umwelt unnötige Transportwege.

Öffentlichkeitsinformation gemäß 12. BImSchV

AUFSICHT UND KONTROLLE

Unser Unternehmen unterliegt einer vielstufigen Kontrolle durch verschiedene Instanzen:

Der zuständige Tierarzt überprüft den Gesundheitszustand des gesamten Bestandes nahezu täglich, mindestens einmal pro Woche.

Die Bauaufsichtsbehörde überwacht regelmäßig, ob die Anlage der Baugenehmigung entspricht.

Die Immissionsschutzbehörde überprüft durch Begehungen ein bis zweimal jährlich, ob die Anlage entsprechend der Betriebsgenehmigung betrieben wird.

Der Brandschutzbeauftragte überwacht die Einhaltung der Brandschutzvorschriften für Mensch und Tier.

Der TÜV überprüft alle zwei Jahre die Anlage nach dem Wasserhaushaltsgesetz.

Jährlich erfolgt die Elektrorevision, d.h. die fachmännische Überprüfung aller elektronischer Anlagen.